Archive for August 25, 2010

Being kind to myself…day 2   3 comments

Diet Bible Verse:  

1 Corinthians 6:19-20, “What?  Know ye not that your body is the temple of the Holy Ghost which is in you, which ye have of God, and ye are not your own? 20 For ye are bought with a price: therefore glorify God in your body, and in your spirit, which are God’s”.

Well, what an education we have received over the course of the week. I never really gave it too much thought what we have eaten.  I go to the store and scan the nutrition labels.  I have always have believed the label when it says how good it is for your body.   I can tell you now that you need to read the  label all the time!

We are learning that fresh is better when it comes to food.  Foods that are processed and have preservatives should really not be eaten or in a limited amount.  Look to the tv this week with all the egg recall news!  I had no hesitation about giving up meat and dairy just for that reason.  Do you know what they do to meat to prepare it for packaging.  How about clean it down with ammonia?  What fillers are going in the meat?  Do you realize that parts of the cow that used to be disposed of is now ground up and used in your foods.  Some of our foods can make us sick; tainted and being called for e-coli and salmonella. (Good link to check out when you have time http://www.foodincmovie.com/  ) Animals are being grown bigger and faster with the use of hormones.  You are eating that meat along with the hormones.  Scary!!!

Alicia Silverstone, author of “the kind diet”, shares that nasty foods are meats and dairy.  She further goes on that white sugar and processed foods also are nasty foods to put into our bodies.  Read the labels, the longer the list, the worse the product. 

I know that everyone reading this blog is not going to take the drastic step that we have in our household with going vegan.  Quite honestly, I’m not sure that the vegan lifestyle will last beyond 30 days with me and my family.  I really think that we will walk away from this experience and probably be able to maintain a more vegetarian lifestyle with occasional meat-eating. 

Rachel approached me months ago about taking one day of our week and not eating meat. She read if you give up eating meat one day a week for a year, 30o lbs of meat would not be consumed!  Wow, I never realized how much meat we eat!  She has totally embraced our vegan project!  We are googling topics about being vegan and educating ourselves so we can move forward with our project with making the best choices.

Now when I go to the grocery store, I tell myself, “Fresh First”!  More times than not, I find myself at our local produce stands, produce picked right from the garden to the stand.  It does take some planning and a bit of time to get food ready, but I have actually been surprised how fast I have been able to prepare our meals this week. The biggest thing noticed so far this week is, everything has so much flavor!

Day 2

Breakfast – consisted of our rice cereal or corn puff which we purchased from our local Weis store in their health food section.  I also made Light Buckwheat pancakes, which were really good.

Lunch – We keep in the fridge containers of sliced cucumbers, lettuce, tomatoes, watermelon, cantaloupe and more.  It’s just as easy to grab a container with something healthy as it is to select the “junk food”.  Veggie sandwiches are becoming the favorite thing to eat on the run.

Dinner – We had a wonderful soup that I used dried beans soaked in water and cooked in the crock pot.  It is so much easier with the crock pot and you can add your seasonings and let things simmer.

Snacks – Let me reiterate keeps fruits, veggies in the fridge ready to eat will let you be more successful in eating healthier.

 

Posted August 25, 2010 by Lizzie's Words in Uncategorized